Scouts of the World Award

Scouts of the World AwardThe Scouts of the World Award (SOWA) is an international award shared with over 50 National Scout Associations.

In the UK it’s only available to Scout Network members, with the aim of encouraging you to develop and support society, locally or globally.

SOWA enables you to develop a range of skills from project management to planning an international trip. Many of these will benefit you both inside and out of Scouting. The experience will show you that you can implement change and work to improve the lives or environment of other people.

Award Requirements

To gain this award you must:

  • Be aged 18-25 and a member of the Scout Network section.
  • Register with The Scout Association and obtain your Scouts of the World passport via the sign up page.
  • Attend a residential Scouts of the World Discovery, lasting a minimum of four days, based on one or more of the three themes: Development, Environment and Peace.
  • With the support of your mentor, finalise your plans for your voluntary service based on the theme explored on your Discovery.
  • Contribute to a minimum of two section meetings for Beavers, Cubs, Scouts or Explorers (or the youth section of another organisation) to introduce and explore your chosen theme with them.
  • Undertake a Scouts of the World Voluntary Service, either in the UK or abroad, lasting a minimum of 14 days.
  • Record and evaluate your experiences in the Scouts of the World passport.
  • Meet with your mentor and report on what you have achieved during your Scouts of the World Voluntary Service. This should include feedback from the community which benefited from your project.
  • Present your report to your Network.

More Information

Leave a Reply